100 Most Challenged Books


I had never seen this list before I saw it posted in the forums on paperbackswap.com.   I have to say that I own more than a few of these, especially since I have complete sets of some of the series.  I just purchased the entire set of Goosebumps for my younger son.  I own all of the Harry Potter books, not to mention most of the Judy Blume.  I have no questions why a few of hers are on the list. 

Some of the books that really blew my mind were;  A Wrinkle In Time, Bridge to Terabithia, The Catcher in the Rye, Blubber, James And The Giant Peach, To Kill A Mockingbird, Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret, and A Light in the Attic.  I love the last one.  Those little poems are just too cute.  Most of the old favorites are on the list, crazy

I will still allow my children to read most of the books on the list.  I recently purchased Eragon for my oldest to read.  I even purchased the little workbook for the book.   When he heard which book I got, his reaction was "that book is stupid".  Oh yeah!  He read the entire thing in two nights.  He would have finished it in one, but I made him do the rest of his school work.  I told him that I would purchase the second book later.  He is such a reader.  My middle son likes to read, he just has trouble comprehending.  I am guessing he needs a bit more of out loud reading.  I hope this will help.

Here is the list for the challenged books so you can check it out for yourself.  Tell me what you guys think about it.

Leave a Reply

