Sweet Potatoes

Sweet potatoes have got to be the weirdest things I have ever seen. My Dh and his family like to eat them with pineapples and marshmallows. Weird. I never had the notion to eat such a thing, until I accidentally tried one. I know. How do you ‘accidentally’ eat something. I purchased a frozen dinner and they were in there. I thought they were just tasty carrots. I guess it helps to read a box every now and then.

Last week, I cubed a few up with some white potatoes and wrapped them all in tin foil. Baked them in the oven. And WOW! Delicious. The kids weren’t to crazy about them. Tonight, I wrapped a whole one in foil and baked it. Not too crazy myself any more. Those things are stringy. Tasty, but still stringy.

I may give them a few more tries. I still don’t want one in a pie. That’s just a little too weird.

One Response

  1. OH, my dear. You have got to love them. They so. totally. rock. 🙂

    Here are some recipes for you. Please do give them a chance! You have to know how to eat ’em!

    My personal favorite on here is “Sweet Potato Casserole” (minus some of the butter) and “Sweet Potato-pecan Coffeecake”. I have yet to make the Pone (but it is on my list of “I’ll-get-to-that-later”s)…

    http://gatheringmanna.blogspot.com/2005/11/sweet-potato-recipes.html

    Love in Him,
    Sweet Potato Junkie – Sprittibee

Leave a Reply

