Letterbox # 1 & 2

The kids and I are trying out a new adventure, letterboxing.  <I added a page to the top of my blog for links, etc.>  Today was our first two finds.  I’ll admit that we didn’t have to venture too far.  We could have walked there in about an hour.  Yet, we stopped by on our way back from a visit to Dollywood.

I’m not sure if it is okay to post where I found these letterboxes.  Although, you can do a search on the letterboxing.org and elsewhere, and come up with tons near you.  I figured I would take a photo of the ‘box’ for our little journaling.  I have my notebook all set up and ready for future entries.  I plan on noting who planted the box, where it was, the stamp <of course>, and a photo of the box.

When we were searching for our first ‘box’, we had to look behind a gravestone leaning against a tree.  I told the kiddos what to look for.  I guess I forgot to mention that all ‘boxes’ don’t look alike.  When I asked my DS2 if there was a box behind that one, he replies, “no, just a round thing”.  DUH!!! Get it out and let’s look at it.

small-lb-_1-sevierville.JPG

When it came time to find the second one, which was located in the same cemetary, the kiddos found it first.  I was WAY off!

small-lb-_2-three-cs.JPG

We have a couple of our boxes planned to plant soon.  One is actually later this week, in honor of DS2’s 10th birthday.   We are going to go visit the ‘potential’ site tomorrow on our way into town for groceries.

Leave a Reply

