Pomegranates

It’s that time of year! I have been waiting all year long to eat one of these crazy looking fruits. It all started when I watched a stupid tv show showing how that get the juice. Of course, that was back in March. DS1 and I have been watching the grocery stores ever since then waiting for one. He lucked out and bought me one from Wal-mart about a month ago. YUCK!!! It was rotten. I felt bad for him, because he paid $4.98 for that thing. Well, yesterday they gods reigned down on us again. We got one for $1.48 from the same wal-mart. DS2 has been asking me ever since when we are going to cut it open, so today was the day. Here is what happened:

Start with the fruit….

pomegranate-small.jpg

Kids working the arils away from the pith….

kid-working-the-fruit-small.jpg

kids-hands-working-fruit-small.jpg

Bowl of arils…. all cleaned up and ready to eat!

arils

We have some in the freezer spaced out on a pan. The kids wanted to try pom-cicles. HA HA HA <–that was too funny. All in all, the kids liked them. I’m still deciding. Maybe I’ll buy a jar of that wonderful POM juice. Maybe not.

Here is a link to wikipedia for pomegranates. We learned where they came from <I would say ours came from California>. We also looked at some recipes. NO THANKS!

UPDATE:  Apparently we are going to grow them now.  DD & DS2 just informed me that they are saving seeds and are going to start growing them to sale.  Should I tell them that we are in the wrong climate?

One Response

  1. Yum. I love pomegranates. I just bought some cranberry/pomegranate 100% juice today at the store. I haven’t tried it yet. The POM juice was pretty strong. Good, but strong.

    (For that price, I hope you got refunded from the rotten one!)

Leave a Reply

