Monopoly – Here and Now World Edition

Have you all seen this version of Monopoly? I’m not sure if it’s new or not–since I don’t get out that often. The family often plays board games after dinner and Monopoly is a family favorite. The only one we had we the Elvis version that my Mother gave me some odd years ago. I’m not exactly sure why the Elvis, but oh well…it’s Monopoly just the same.

monopoly

When my DD saw this newer version with no paper money at Wally-world, she just had to buy it with her Christmas money. You see, she just hates counting out all that money. This way she can be the banker and not have to worry about all that nonsense!

This version features a bank debit card system for up to six players. You each get your own card (different colors) and every time you receive money or owe money you have to insert the card into the correct slot in the bank machine (atm). This all tends to be a bit of a bother. I thought that passing out money, helping with rent, buying property, …, … was all a bother before. I see why in the rule book it says that you may want to appoint someone to just be a banker. (I’ll note that in the future.) Side note: DD picked up the motions very easy!

This game has international cities for properties instead of the normal. It would be a great idea for some unit studies…hmmm ideas a brewing. I don’t care for the money totals on this game. Why do they have to change stuff around soooo much? Instead of getting $200 for passing go, now you get $2 million. I guess with the price of inflation and all…..

You can also leave your money in the atm and restart the game at a later time. We currently have one waiting…the only problem, I forgot to mark down where the pieces went…LOL

Leave a Reply

