New Coop

Let me start by saying that it’s been awhile!  BUT, I figured it was about time to get back and post something.  So, here comes a few posts in a row..that should hold me over for sometime!

When we first got chickens we thought they would just roam wherever and come back to the safety of their cage at night.  YEAH RIGHT!  These chickens thought they were bulletproof, I guess.  So, when they started dissappearing one by one we had to do something.  Back in the winter we built  (and when I say ‘we’, I mean my husband!) a coop that you can walk in and it has roost poles and nest boxes and chicken wire on only one side.  We put nine chickens in that one.  That left four bantam chickens outside in the cold. (well actually they were all in the cold at that time ..lol) 

coop-complete1

So, the bantam chickens ended up in an old rabbit hutch that was given to us by a friend.  They liked it enough, but it was small and they couldn’t scratch the ground.  After staring at this thing in our backyard for sometime now, WE decided to build another coop for them.  Currently it is just a frame and covered in chicken wire with NO door.  Leave it up to my husband to half do a job…UGH!  He says he is still pondering on how he wants to do the door, oh well…as long as I don’t have to build it who cares!!!!

coop-three-ladies-in-dirt

The other chickens have learned to come home at night, so we release them during daylight hours.  Guess they just got used to the coop, good thing cause we have lots of coons here!

coop-not-published

One Response

  1. I wondered where you had been. I’m glad you got some traveling done even if it was just there and back out. I wish I had done that with the last state I took my kids to. We were on such a narrow road, I was glad to get back out of the state again.

Leave a Reply

