Pirated Movie ??????

UPDATED:  The lady at the video store kindly let me exchange it for another movie of my choice (since they didn’t have Troy).  She had no idea since they buy these movies used and resale them.  She said she even screens the boxes and discs (just doesn’t watch them).  She is going to watch this one and learn from it and be able to catch them before she buys anymore.  So all is well…..

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

The family and I recently went into a small video store that just popped up in our hometown. The guy had a deal running where you could buy four dvds for $20 (normally price $4.99 – $9.95). Great deal, huh! He had a great selection also. We only snagged two of the lower priced ones and also picked up Animal House for $3.99. Then we headed home to watch some dvds on a rainy Saturday.

We first popped in Young Guns. No problems with that one, except for the slight skipping later on in the movie.  I think that was just due to the quanity of fingerprints on the playing side.  Next came Troy.  Here in lies the questionable dvd.  But before I get into all that, Animal House played decently, again with fingerprint smudges.

Now back to Troy….

When I first noticed the box at the store, it had some letters on it in a foreign language..but still formatted for region 1.  I chalked this all up to just the cover (having never seen one before).

troy-cover

When I took the cover out to scan it, it had a flap inside.  Here is a pic of the inside flap and the disc itself – which looks normal.

troy-inside-disc

I google’d the upc and it comes back to Firebird…

troy-upc

When the movie starts, it has the main menu.  Now, I wasn’t in the room when this movie started, but noticed this upon further viewing.  Notice the word SCENES is misspelled!

troy-menu1

Here is the Warner Brothers sign in clear recording…

troy-wb

Here are a few captured shots of the movie itself.  Grainy, blurry, too bright, and the audio SUCKED!  It sounded no where near Brad Pitt.

troy-scenes-3

troy-scene-2

troy-scenes-1

So what do you all think?  I called the guy and he said to bring it back and he would give me another movie (won’t be Troy).  I didn’t tell him about the quality, but will discuss it when I exchange it!

Leave a Reply

